Advertise on | Player Search by

The Kansas City Royals
Founded - 1969
Stadium - Kauffman Stadium since 1973 (Kansas City, Missouri);
Best Team Record - 102-60 (.630) 1977; AL West Division Champions
Worst Team Record - 56-106 (.346) 2005 ; 5th Place AL Central
World Series Winners - 1985 def. Cardinals (4-3)
Division Winners - 1976-1978, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1985
Wild Card Winners - none

Kansas City Royals Tickets

More Royals Pictures
World Series Champions - 1985

Capturing baseball's ordinary, extraordinary, and epic performances
Kansas City Royals Team Capsule
Updated Regularly

The Greinke-Olivo Saga Continues - When a pitcher has a bad outing, you shrug it off. Get lit up by the Colorado Rockies, and you definitely let it go. Even for a Cy Young Award winner, a bad outing is part of the game.

But when a dominant pitcher gets tagged for eight runs in less than four innings against the team his old catcher plays for, you know what’s going on.

Updating a story we've been following all year, Colorado Rockies catcher Miguel Olivo had the day off on Sunday as the Rockies faced the Kansas City Royals, his old team, and reigning AL Cy Young Award winner Zack Greinke. But Olivo probably didn’t sit this game out; Olivo almost certainly played the role of "special assistant to the Manager" for this one, sitting right next to Rockies manager Jim Tracy and giving him everything he knows about his former teammate.

Franchise History

In the Big Inning
Apparently undaunted by the failure of the Athletics in Kansas City, Major League Baseball decided to expand to Kansas City with the Royals in 1969 as part of a two team expansion which also included the Seattle Pilots.

Later Developments
The Royals experienced much early success, winning seven division titles and a World Series between their inception and 1985. Success would not be long lived as the Royals would have trouble competing in later years, suffering from a poorly organized franchise and minor league system and from playing in small market Kansas City.

Best Trade in Team History
We dug deep for this one: December 13, 1996, The Royals traded Joe Randa to the Pirates for Jay Bell and Jeff King. Bell and King immediately became two of the team's top offensive threats, and they had re-aquired Randa by 1999.

Worst Trade in Team History
Just before the 1987 season, the Royals traded away Chris Jelic and pitching prospect David Cone to the New York Mets for Ed Hearn, Rick Anderson, and Mauro Gozzo. Hearn, Anderson, Gozzo, and Jelic went on to do little, while Cone went 20-3 with a 2.22 ERA in 1988 and spent several very good seasons with the Mets before returning to the Royals in 1993. Links for the Kansas City Royals

All Kansas City Royals Stories

2008 Royals Team Preview
Can KC finish above the AL Central cellar for the first time since 2003?

2008 Royals Team Preview
Can KC finish above the AL Central cellar for the first time since 2003?

2007 Royals Team Preview
The 2007 Royals may surprise some people... by winning 70 games.

2007 Royals Team Preview
The Royals set a franchise record with 106 losses last season. They can't help but improve, though by how much?

Overpaying for Pitching Part II 12/19/05
General Managers across the league are making a fatal error: they are only looking at the last line of statistics on these pitchers’ baseball cards, and therefore overpaying for pitching. Note the date: the Royals hadn't even signed Elarton yet.

Assorted Team Notes for 2005 12/7/05
The Royals are really bad. Read about just how bad they really are.

Pitchers That Make You Go ‘Hmmm…’
Dennis Leonard, among other pitchers, got snubbed for the 1977 AL Cy Young Award thanks to a damn Yankee.

Another Beaner In Oakland?
The Royals aren't the only ones to give up Jermaine Dye for nothing.

Top 10 Rookie of the Year Busts of All-Time 11/04
Can you believe that there were nine bigger flameouts than Bob Hamelin?

Kansas City Royals Archive

All Time Team

Best Overall Player
Best Overall Pitcher
Worst Overall Player
Worst Overall Pitcher
Most Overrated Player
Most Underrated Player
Most Underrated Pitcher
Biggest Bust
Best Player Name
First Base
Second Base
Third Base
Left Field
Center Field
Right Field
Designated Hitter
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Relief Pitcher
Relief Pitcher
Dick Howser
Whitey Herzog
George Brett
Bret Saberhagen
Carlos Febles
Jose Lima
Bo Jackson
Hal McRae
Dennis Leonard
Bob Hamelin
Buddy Biancalana
Mike MacFarlane
Mike Sweeney
Frank White
George Brett
Freddie Patek
UL Washington
Hal McRae
Willie Wilson
Amos Otis
Danny Tartabull
Bret Saberhagen
Kevin Appier
Paul Splittorf
Dennis Leonard
Mark Gubicza
Dan Quisenberry
Jeff Montgomery
All Time Leaders
Home Runs
Runs Batted In
Stolen Bases
Total Bases
Batting Average
On-Base Percentage
Slugging Percentage
Games Pitched
Innings Pitched
Bases on Balls
2707 - George Brett
10349 - George Brett
1583 - George Brett
3154 - George Brett
665 - George Brett
137 - George Brett
317 - George Brett
1595 - George Brett
612 - Willie Wilson
5044 - George Brett
.305 - George Brett
.373 - Mike Sweeney
.497 - Mike Sweeney
.870 - Mike Sweeney
686 - Jeff Montgomery
2554.2 - Paul Splittorf
166 - Paul Splittorf
143 - Paul Splittorf
1458 - Kevin Appier
783 - Mark Gubicza
2.55 - Dan Quisenberry
23 - Dennis Leonard
304 - Jeff Montgomery
Single Season Leaders


705 - Willie Wilson, 1980
136 - Johnny Damon, 2000
230 - Willie Wilson, 1980
54 - Hal McRae, 1977
21 - Willie Wilson, 1985
36 - Steve Balboni, 1985
144 - Mike Sweeney, 2000
83 - Willie Wilson, 1979
363 - George Brett, 1979
.390 - George Brett, 1980
.454 - George Brett, 1980
.664 - George Brett, 1980
1.118 - George Brett, 1980
84 - Dan Quisenberry, 1985
294.2 - Dennis Leonard, 1978
23 - Bret Saberhagen, 1989
19 - Paul Splittorff, 1974
19 - Darrell May, 2004
244 - Dennis Leonard, 1977
120 - Mark Gubicza, 1987
2.08 - Roger Nelson, 1972
6 - Roger Nelson, 1972
45 - Dan Quisenberry, 1983
45 - Jeff Montgomery, 1993
Hall of Fame
George Brett

*Baseball Evolution Hall of Famer
Bold players are in both Halls
Award Winners
MVP Winners
George Brett - 1980

Cy Young Winners
Bret Saberhagen - 1985
Bret Saberhagen - 1989
David Cone - 1994

Rookies of the Year
Lou Pinella - 1969
Bob Hamelin - 1994
Carlos Beltran - 1999
Angel Berroa - 2003

Firemen of the Year
Dan Quisenberry - 1980
Dan Quisenberry - 1982
Dan Quisenberry - 1983
Dan Quisenberry - 1984
Dan Quisenberry - 1985
Jeff Montgomery - 1993

Kingman Award
Bob Oliver - 1970
Craig Paquette - 1996

Alex Gonzalez of the Marlins
Club Members
Triple Crown Hitters

Triple Crown Pitchers

3-4-5 Club

100-Plus Club
Hal McRae (27/133) 1982
Mike Sweeney (29/144) 2000

500 Outs Club
Carlos Beltran - 1999

50 Home Run Club

30-30 Club Members
Carlos Beltran (38/42) 2004
- split season w/Astros

Sub-2.00 ERA
Jack Coombs (1.30) 1910
Vida Blue (1.82) 1971