The San Diego Padres
Founded - 1969 as the San Diego Padres
Stadium - Petco Park since 2004 (San Diego, California)
Best Team Record - 98-64 (.605) 1998; National League Champions
Worst Team Record - 52-110 (.321) 1969; 6th Place NL West
World Series Winners - none
Division Winners - 1984 1996 1998 2005 2006
Wild Card Winners - none

Plan your vacation to America’s Finest City around scheduled San Diego events, and you’ll have more fun than you can imagine.

More Padres Pictures

Capturing baseball's ordinary, extraordinary, and epic performances
San Diego Padres Team Capsule
Updated Regularly

3/23/10: Why Not Enjoy It While You Can? - Cactus League pitchers spend all spring complaining about the difficult pitching conditions in Arizona and Padres hitters spend all summer complaining about the difficult hitting conditions at Petco Park. So while Padres hitters play in Arizona, you would expect them to take advantage of the unusually favorable conditions. Not so far. Through March 23rd, the Padres have hit only nine spring home runs, which is last among all 30 teams, not just those playing in Arizona. Will Venable is the only Padre with as many as two.   --KG

Franchise History

The Beginning - The San Diego Padres were born into the National League in 1969 as part of a two team NL expansion which included the Montreal Expos. The Padres have been minimally successful, having won four division titles and been to two World Series in their existence

Best Trade in Team History - In June of 1993, the Padres acquired Trevor Hoffman along with Andres Berumen and Jose Martinez in exchange for Gary Sheffield and Rich Rodriguez. Though Sheffield is a future Hall of Famer, he has stayed with no team for more than four full seasons, while Hoffman went on to become a San Diego legend.

Worst Trade in Team History - In 1993, owner Tom Werner was having a fire sale, and the Padres sent Fred McGriff to the Braves for three prospects that you've never heard of. McGriff took the Braves on his back to the top of the NL West in one of the greatest pennant races ever. Links for the San Diego Padres

All San Diego Padres Stories

2010 Adrians Preview
A Padres team that actually compares to recent Cardinals and Twins playoff squads.

2010 Padres Preview
These Padres have deceptively good pitching, but will struggle to score runs.

2009 Padres Preview
Contrary to popular belief, the Padres will not finish last in the NL West.

2008 Padres Preview
They have some excellent talent as some positions, but overall, this team risks being outclassed in the NL West.

Can a SP be MVP? 11/21/07
Jake Peavy, like most starting pitchers in recent years, didn't receive a second thought in the NL MVP voting.

NL Cy Young Candidates 11/9/07
Jake Peavy appears to be the obvious choice for NL Cy Young, but let's double-check to make sure.

2007 Padres Preview 3/13/07
A great offeason from a financial standpoint may not necessarily lead to a three-peat for the Padres.

2006 Padres Preview
The San Diego Padres won the NL West last year as the least impressive division champ in recent memory. So what can we expect from this crop of religious figures?

San Diego Padres Archive

All Time Team
Best Overall Player
Best Overall Pitcher
Worst Overall Player
Worst Overall Pitcher
Most Overrated Player
Most Underrated Player
Best Player Name
First Base
Second Base
Third Base
Left Field
Center Field
Right Field
Fourth Outfielder
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Relief Pitcher
Relief Pitcher
Bruce Bochy
Tony Gwynn
Trevor Hoffman
Archi Cianfrocco
Steve Arlin
Eric Show
Nate Colbert
Bip Roberts
Benito Santiago
Nate Colbert
Mark Loretta
Ken Caminiti
Garry Templeton
Phil Nevin
Gene Richards
Steve Finley
Tony Gwynn
Dave Winfield
Randy Jones
Jake Peavy
Eric Show
Andy Benes
Andy Ashby
Trevor Hoffman
Rollie Fingers
All Time Leaders
Home Runs
Runs Batted In
Stolen Bases
Total Bases
Batting Average
Games Pitched
Innings Pitched
Bases on Balls
2440 - Tony Gwynn
9288 - Tony Gwynn
1383 - Tony Gwynn
3141 - Tony Gwynn
543 - Tony Gwynn
85 - Tony Gwynn
163 - Nate Colbert
1138 - Tony Gwynn
319 - Tony Gwynn
4259 - Tony Gwynn
.338 - Tony Gwynn
.388 - Tony Gwynn

821 - Trevor Hoffman
1766.0 - Randy Jones
100 - Eric Show
105 - Randy Jones
1036 - Andy Benes
593 - Eric Show
2.71 - Trevor Hoffman
18 - Randy Jones
482 - Trevor Hoffman
Single Season Leaders

655 - Steve Finley, 1996
126 - Steve Finley, 1996
220 - Tony Gwynn, 1997
49 - Tony Gwynn, 1997
13 - Tony Gwynn, 1987
50 - Greg Vaughn, 1998
130 - Ken Caminiti
70 - Alan Wiggins
348 - Steve Finley, 1996
.394 - Tony Gwynn, 1994
.454 - Tony Gwynn, 1994
.621 - Ken Caminiti, 1996
1.028 - Ken Caminiti, 1996
83 - Craig Lefferts, 1986
315.1 - Randy Jones, 1976
22 - Randy Jones, 1976
22 - Randy Jones, 1974
257 - Kevin Brown, 1998
125 - Matt Clements, 2000
2.10 - Dave Roberts, 1971
6 - Fred Norman, 1972
6 - Randy Jones, 1975
53 - Trevor Hoffman, 1998
Hall of Fame
Tony Gwynn

*BaseballEvolution Hall of Famer
Bold players are in both Halls
Award Winners
Most Valuable Players
Ken Caminiti - 1996

Cy Young Winners
Randy Jones - 1976
Gaylord Perry - 1978
Mark Davis - 1989
Jake Peavy - 2007

Rookies of the Year
Butch Metzger - 1976
Benito Santiago - 1987

Firemen of the Year
Rollie Fingers - 1977 Rollie Fingers - 1978
Rollie Fingers - 1980
Mark Davis - 1989
Trevor Hoffman - 1998

Kingman Award Winners
Steve Garvey - 1986
Joe Carter - 1990
Phil Plantier - 1994
Ruben Rivera - 1999

Alex Gonzalez of the Marlins
Club Members
Triple Crown Hitters

Triple Crown Pitchers
Jake Peavy - 2007

3-4-5 Club

100-Plus Club
Tony Gwynn (17/119) 1997

500 Outs Club
Ozzie Smith - 1979
Ozzie Smith - 1980
Steve Garvey - 1985

50 Home Run Club
Greg Vaughn (50) 1998

30-30 Club