Advertise on | Player Search by

The Washington Nationals
Founded - 1969 as the Montreal Expos
Stadium - RFK Stadium since 2005 (Washington D.C.)
Best Team Record - 74-40 (.649) 1994; No post-season due to strike
Worst Team Record - 52-110 (.321) 1969; 6th Place NL East
World Series Winners - none
Division Winners - 1981, 1994
Wild Card Winners - none

More Nationals Pictures

Capturing baseball's ordinary, extraordinary, and epic performances
Washington Nationals Team Capsule
Updated Regularly

8/27/10: Strasburg Has Significant Tear in Elbow Ligament - The Washington Nationals announced today that Stephen Strasburg has a significant tear in his ulnar collateral ligament, which will almost certainly require Tommy John surgery. The normal recovery time for the procedure is about 12 months, so the National phenom will likely miss all of the 2011 season.

Strasburg made 12 starts this year and never threw as many as 100 pitches in any of them. He went 5-3 with a 2.91 ERA and a remarkable 92/17 K/BB ratio in 68 innings.

Franchise History

Baseball in Canada - The Montreal Expos were born in 1969, as baseball expanded into Canada for the first time. The Expos spent the late seventies, the eighties, and the early nineties being routinely solid but not quite good enough to get over the hump.

1994 - What Could Have Been - In a sad twist of fate, the Expos only division title came in 1994 - the strike year - and so the division title was awarded post mortem. When the strike ended the season, the Expos were 6 games up on the Braves and looking solid.

Post-1994 - After 1994, the Expos never recovered. Years of supplying the rest of the league with young, big named talent took its toll, and in the end, the Expos could barely draw 10,000 fans to see a game. After famously splitting time between Montreal and Puerto Rico in 2003 and 2004, the Expos finally and mercifully relocated to Washington in 2005 and became the Nationals.

Best Trade in Team History - In late 1993, the Expos sent hotshot second baseman Delino Deshields to the Dodgers in exchange for pitching prospect Pedro Martinez. Deshields was essentially done with the productive part of his career, while Pedro was just getting going.

Worst Trade in Team History - Though his loss to free agency was probably inevitable, the Expos traded Pedro Martinez to the Boston Red Sox for Carl Pavano and Tony Armas Jr. in 1997. Armas and Pavano have had scattered success, while Pedro went on to three of the most dominant pitching seasons ever. Team Links

All Washington Nationals Stories

2008 Washington Nationals Preview
At Last, A Home to Call Their Own

2007 Washington Nationals Preview
It should be a long season for the Washington Nationals.

2006 Washington Nationals Preview
This is a team with the potential to contend for the NL East title this season.

Year in Review - Top Ten Stories of 2005
As the new year approaches, let's take the time to reflect on the 2005 season, which turned out to be significant on many levels. Find out what events made Asher's Top 10 Stories of 2005.

2005 Managers of the Year
The Manager of the Year award is usually based on intangibles like “creating team chemistry” or “getting the most out of your team.” The real upset here is that Frank Robinson did not Garner (pun intended) any votes for NL Manager of the Year. Read more about this grave injustice.

The D.C. Daily Diary
Asher will be working in Washington D.C. for the summer, and while he is there, he will be keeping tabs on the Orioles and Nationals via a semi-daily diary that he will keep as he gets the opportunity to watch these two teams close-up. Learn about the Nats as you sneak a peak into Asher's D.C. Diary.

State of the Nationals Address 5/28/05
Pretty much everyone thought that the Washington Nationals would languish in the cellar of the much-improved NL East all season long. Keith has done some research on why the Nationals are exceeding expectations, and examines the future of their season. Read about what's happening in our article about this team.

Tony Batista - The 2004 Dave Kingman Award Winner
When we look back on the 2004 Season and ask "who was the player doing the least with the most, there could be only one answer.

Washington Nationals Archive

All Time Team
Best Overall Player
Best Overall Pitcher
Worst Overall Player
Worst Overall Pitcher
Most Overrated Player
Most Underrated Player
Best Player Name
First Base
Second Base
Third Base
Left Field
Center Field
Right Field
Fourth Outfielder
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Relief Pitcher
Relief Pitcher
Felipe Alou
Vladimir Guerrero
Dennis Martinez
Tim Foli
Mike Thurman
Orlando Cabrera
Al Oliver
Boots Day
Gary Carter
Andres Galarraga
Jose Vidro
Tim Wallach
Hubie Brooks
Larry Parrish
Tim Raines
Andre Dawson
Vlad Guerrero
Larry Walker
Pedro Martinez
Steve Rodgers
Dennis Martinez
Javier Vazquez
Bryn Smith
Ugueth Urbina
Jeff Reardon
All Time Leaders
Home Runs
Runs Batted In
Stolen Bases
Total Bases
Batting Average
Games Pitched
Innings Pitched
Bases on Balls
1767 - Tim Wallach
6529 - Tim Wallach
947 - Tim Raines
1694 - Tim Wallach
360 - Tim Wallach
82 - Tim Raines
234 - Vlad Guerrero
905 - Tim Wallach
635 - Tim Raines
2728 - Tim Wallach
.323 - Vlad Guerrero
425 - Tim Burke
2837.2 - Steve Rogers
158 - Steve Rogers
152 - Steve Rogers
1621 - Steve Rogers
876 - Steve Rogers
2.61 - Tim Burke
37 - Steve Rogers
152 - Jeff Reardon
Single Season Leaders


659 - Warren Cromartie, 1979
133 - Tim Raines, 1983
206 - Vladimir Guerrero, 2002
54 - Mark Grudzielanek, 1997
13 - Rodney Scott, 1980
13 - Tim Raines, 1985
13 - Mitch Webster, 1986
44 - Vladimir Guerrero, 2000
131 Vladimir Guerrero, 1999
97 - Ron LeFlore, 1980
369 - Vladimir Guerrero, 2000
.345 - Vladimir Guerrero, 2000
.429 - Tim Raines, 1987
.664 - Vladimir Guerrero, 2000
1.074 - Vladimir Guerrero, 2000
92 - Mike Marshall, 1973
301.2 - Steve Rogers, 1977
20 - Ross Grimsley, 1978
22 - Steve Rogers, 1974
305 - Pedro Martinez, 1997
146 - Bill Stoneman, 1971
1.90 - Pedro Martinez, 1997
5 - Dennis Martinez, 1991
5 - Steve Rogers, 1983
5 - Steve Rogers, 1979
5 - Bill Stoneman, 1969
5 - Carlos Perez, 1997
43 - John Wetteland, 1993
Hall of Fame
Gary Carter
Andre Dawson

*Baseball Evolution Hall of Famer
Bold players are in both Halls
Award Winners
MVP Winners

Cy Young Winners
Pedro Martinez - 1997

Rookies of the Year
Carl Morton - 1970
Andre Dawson - 1977

Firemen of the Year
Jeff Reardon - 1985
Chad Cordero - 2005

Kingman Award
Andre Dawson - 1985
Shane Andrews - 1998
Tony Batista - 2004

Alex Gonzalez of the Marlins
Club Members
Triple Crown Hitters

Triple Crown Pitchers

3-4-5 Club

100-Plus Club

500 Outs Club
Dave Cash - 1978
Warren Cromartie - 1979
Marquis Grissom - 1992
Ryan Zimmerman - 2007

50 Home Run Club

30-30 Club Members
Vladimir Guerrero (34/37) 2001
Vladimir Guerrero (39/40) 2002
Alfonso Soriano (46/41) 2002

Sub-2.00 ERA
Pedro Martinez (1.90) 1997