Advertise on | Player Search by
The New York Mets
Founded - 1962 as the New York Metropolitans
Stadium - Shea Stadium since 1964(Flushing, New York)
Best Team Record - 108-54 (.667) 1986; World Series Champions
Worst Team Record - 40-120 (.250) 1962; 10th Place National League
World Series Winners - 1969 def. Orioles 4-1; 1986 def. Red Sox 4-3
Division Winners - 1969, 1973, 1986, 1988, 2000, 2006
Wild Card Winners - 1999
New York Mets Tickets

More Mets Pictures
World Series Champions - 1969, 1986

Capturing baseball's ordinary, extraordinary, and epic performances
New York Mets Team Capsule
Updated Regularly

The Mets are back. For now. The New York Mets swept a double-header against the Los Angeles Dodgers yesterday to run their winning streak to six games. The Mets also took over first place in the NL East for the first time since May 29th of last season. The Mets were a team for whom so much went wrong in 2009, but thus far everything seems to be going right in 2010. The hitters are hitting, rookie call-up Ike Davis looks like everything the Mets were hoping for, Mike Pelfrey has remembered how to pitch, and the bullpen has been nigh unhittable. Even Oliver Perez is giving up less than a hit per inning.

Franchise History

The Beginning - The New York Mets were introduced into the National League in 1962 as part of a two team expansion with the Houston Colt 45s. The 1962 are generally regarded, in both spirit and on paper, as the worst team of all time, with the possible exception of the 1930 Phillies.

Later Developments - As terrible as the 1962 Mets were, that is how fabulous their miracle team of 1969 was in the World Series. The Mets have taken part in two of the most famous World Series - the 1969 Miracle Mets Series, and the 1986 Bill Buckner World Series.

Best Trade in Team History - In 1998, the Mets acquired Mike Piazza from the Florida Marlins for Preston Wilson, Ed Yarnall, and Geoff Goetz. Piazza is one of the all time great catchers, while Wilson has had inconsistent success, and Yarnall and Goetz have acheived little.

Worst Trade in Team History - In 1971, the Mets sent Nolan Ryan, Frank Estrada, Don Rose, and Leroy Stanton to the California Angels for Jim Fregosi. Fregosi never played another full season, and Ryan went on to become a Hall of Famer. Links for the
New York Mets

All New York Mets Stories

2008 New York Mets Preview
After last year's debacle, it's time for revenge.

2007 New York Mets Preview
Offense good, bullpen good. What about the rotation?

2006 New York Mets Preview
Another round of big-name acquisitions in Queens. Will they backfire yet again?

Moving and Shaking in the National League East
The Mets look like this could be their year, especially since their acquisitions have been their division-mates' losses. Read Asher's thoughts about the Mets' acquisitions of Billy Wagner and Carlos Delgado.

The 2005 National League Least Valuable Player
When it comes down to it, what the voters are looking for in an LVP is a player's contribution to preventing his team's success. The big winner in a race like this is one whose team had a legitimate shot at success, one who was the primary star on his team, and one who failed to meet legitimately high expectations. See which New York Met took the award this season.

What's the Deal with Carlos Beltran and Adrian Beltre?
Wanna see something weird? Check out how similar the careers of the Belt Brothers Carlos Beltran and Adrian Beltre have been.

Assorted 2005 Team Notes 12/7/05
Player acquisitions differ greatly for the Mets and Yankees.

The Fifty-Fifth Annual Dave Kingman Award
Does Mike Cameron have what it takes to take home the hardware?

New York Mets Archive

All Time Team
Best Overall Player
Best Overall Pitcher
Worst Overall Player
Worst Overall Pitcher

Most Overrated Player
Most Underrated Player
Best Player Name
First Base
Second Base
Third Base
Left Field
Center Field
Right Field
Fourth Outfielder
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Starting Pitcher
Relief Pitcher
Relief Pitcher
Davey Johnson
Darryl Strawberry
Tom Seaver
Kevin Elster
Al Jackson
Jack Fisher
Rey Ordonez
Dave Magadan
Cleon Jones
Mike Piazza
Keith Hernandez
Edgardo Alfonso
David Wright
Bud Harrelson
Howard Johnson
Kevin McReynolds
Lee Mazzilli
Darryl Strawberry
Rusty Staub
Tom Seaver
Doc Gooden
Jerry Koosman
David Cone
Al Leiter
John Franco
Jesse Orosco
All Time Leaders
Home Runs
Runs Batted In
Stolen Bases
Total Bases
Batting Average

Games Pitched
Innings Pitched
Bases on Balls
1853 - Ed Kranepool
5436 - Ed Kranepool
662 - Darryl Strawberry
1418 - Ed Kranepool
225 - Ed Kranepool
62 - Mookie Wilson
252 - Darryl Strawberry
733 - Darryl Strawberry
281 - Mookie Wilson
2047 - Ed Kranepool
.297 - Keith Hernandez
.296 - Mike Piazza
695 - John Franco
847 - Tom Seaver
198 - Tom Seaver
137 - Jerry Koosman
2541 - Tom Seaver
847 - Tom Seaver
2.57 - Tom Seaver
44 - Tom Seaver
276 - John Franco
Single Season Leaders

682 - Lance Johnson, 1996
123 - Edgardo Alfonzo, 1999
227 - Lance Johnson, 1996
44 - Bernard Gilkey, 1996
21 - Lance Johnson, 1996
41 - Todd Hundley, 1996
124 - Mike Piazza, 1999
66 - Roger Cedeno, 1999
327 - Lance Johnson, 1996
.353 - John Olerud, 1998
.423 - Rickey Henderson, 1999
.614 - Mike Piazza, 2000
1.012 - Mike Piazza, 2000
83 - Mike Stanton, 2004
290.2 - Tom Seaver, 1970
25 - Tom Seaver, 1969
24 - Roger Craig, 1962
24 - Jack Fisher, 1965
289 - Tom Seaver, 1971
116 - Nolan Ryan, 1971
1.53 - Dwight Gooden, 1985
8 - Dwight Gooden, 1985
43 - Armando Benitez, 2001
Hall of Fame
Tom Seaver
Gary Carter
Nolan Ryan

*BaseballEvolution Hall of Famer
Bold players are in both Halls
Award Winners
Most Valuable Players

Cy Young Winners
Tom Seaver - 1969
Tom Seaver - 1973
Tom Seaver - 1975
Dwight Gooden - 1985

Rookies of the Year
Tom Seaver - 1967
Jon Matlack - 1972
Darryl Strawberry - 1983
Dwight Gooden - 1984

Firemen of the Year
John Franco - 1990
Armando Benitez - 2001

Kingman Award Winners

Alex Gonzalez of the Marlins
Mark Redman Award Winners
John Maine - 2007
Club Members
Triple Crown Hitters

Triple Crown Pitchers
Dwight Gooden (24/268/1.53) 1985

3-4-5 Club

100-Plus Club

500 Outs Club
Felix Millan - 1975
Frank Taveras - 1979
Jose Reyes - 2005
Jose Reyes - 2007

50 Home Run Club

30-30 Club
Howard Johnson (36/32) 1987
Darryl Strawberry (39/36) 1987
Howard Johnson (36/41) 1989
Howard Johnson (38/30) 1991